Don’t mistake your Privilege for God’s Blessing

Luke 15:31 – My son, the father said, you are always with me, and everything I have is yours.

This morning in the shower, I thought, “Oh, maybe I should be thankful for my warm shower, it’s such a blessing, there are people who don’t have hot water.”

Then it hit me – that’s not a blessing from God, that is my privilege.

My job house, my car, my safe neighborhood is not a blessing it’s a privilege.

When white upper/middle class Christians manage to raise $3 million for building their middle school a gym, (true story) that is privilege, not God’s blessing.

Maybe if we stop mistakenly identifying our privileges as blessings from God, we can turn and start looking around at the message that God is trying to send us.

I will be the first to admit, I am REALLY new at this, and I have no idea how to start adjusting my perspectives, especially since it’s so hard to think about relinquishing the comfort and seeming stability that I have.

I would love to know if anyone has ideas on how a working mom from the suburbs can start to really join in what God is doing and where God actually is?

3 thoughts on “Don’t mistake your Privilege for God’s Blessing

  1. Oh, I have been thinking on this a lot lately. Privilege is exactly it. It’s as if that word is the answer to my question. It’s difficult for me to even understand middle class Christians anymore in my situation. It’s like they have this totally different God who gives them everything they need, whereas my God is apparently incapable. When I ask why, their answer boils down to I’m not holy enough.

    From the poverty side of working momdome 😉 I guess I don’t see God as this rich uncle in the sky that he apparently is to most people even at my own church. When the preacher gets up and says how obedience gets us blessings (my Cliffs Notes version of most sermons) I have no idea what he’s talking about.

    Instead, I see the Incarnation as evidence that He works through human beings so each of us who claims to follow Christ should be helping others. In Acts, the church is described as basically everyone sharing and everyone having their needs met. I’m still looking for that church.

    I guess all that is to say that in most cases there is nothing to join only something to start. I look for the needy and start from there. Having been in a few organizations, I just don’t recommend them. Most times if you can’t make all the meetings and do all the things (And I can’t because I’m a single mom who works 50-60 hours a week, has five kids, has three broken appliances…) then you really are no use to them. So I make my own way. There are needy people everywhere, all types of needs…financial, emotional, etc…once you begin to step into lives, you’ll find more to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

