Asking for Living Water

This prayer and reflection is inspired by the Practice sermon series that was done this summer at Sojourn Grace Collective.

John 4:10 (NLT) Jesus replied, “If you only knew the gift God has for you and who you are speaking to, you would ask me, and I would give you living water.”

Hebrews 1:3 (NLT) The Son radiates God’s own glory and expresses the very character of God, and he sustains everything by the mighty power of his command.

Jesus, if I only knew, if I only knew – Jesus, please give me living water.

You said “My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.” John 10:10

If I only knew what that meant. If I only knew how to reach out and receive from you.

Have I ever even asked?

Jesus, please give me living water, please give me your rich and satisfying life. Please show me how to practice connection, enthusiasm, and please, please help me find my voice.

Here I am, in my most comfortable place. In an office, an office which I have been now blessed to have in my home.  Completed just yesterday, I wanted to accept the invitation it gives me.  It invites me to be organized and create, with all those little things I need, right at my fingertips.

I have Bibles and internet, paper and books, light and reminders, this new glass surface to utilize.

I have time, everyone is still asleep.

This office brings me a peace I have not known for a very long time.  Here I feel whole, with the ability to connect my physical, mental, and spiritual selves.  Here in my home I am free to seek and explore and find Jesus.

office

Jesus, touch my heart, fill me with the purpose you have for me. I am so thankful it will be in keeping with the person you have already made me, who I already am. I already am the love that I long to give. I already am the tasks you have for me to complete. I already am that person.

I drink a lot of water. I drink water and it fills my body, it cleanses me, and refreshes me.  I read and listen to the people of God, I listen and listen as their words pour into my mind. They tell me I am a loved child of God. These are like water for my mind.  I have been encouraged and renewed and challenged.  Now, I want to be a whole person, I want the spiritual water for my soul. Jesus, please give me your living water. I am asking, please give me living water. I want life!

Leave a Reply

